Tis the Season!

15 12 2008

Hi Ladies:

The holidays can be seriously stressful for stepfamilies, but they can also be the time of year when the creativity and flexibility of blended families can really shine. Check out this archived post for some ideas. Then help us all out by answering a few questions:

How do you split up the holidays?

What special traditions do you celebrate?

Are you nervous about anything?

What do you find most challenging during this time of year?

What things are you grateful for?

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 12 2008
Crys

How do you split up the holidays? Right now the boys will be spending the first half of the week with Jane and part of Christmas Eve. Then we have them the rest of the week. This is also mainly because they have the week off from school and I wanted them to be able to spend some time with her on their week off.

What special traditions do you celebrate? This is our first Christmas together so we’re starting the tradition of making our own personal and family ornaments, and we’re starting the tradition of putting a new patch on our new stockings.

Are you nervous about anything? I’m more nervous about the boys being dissapointed with gifts and making sure I react appropriately to it. It’s financially hard for everyone. So this year we’re getting them at least one thing from the list they wrote and then useful/creative things like new crayons (as we have one set) and warm clothes.)

What do you find most challenging during this time of year? Right now just trying to work with Jane to find time for the boys to spend with her. There hasn’t been much organization or regularity to their parenting plan and I’ve much insisted that it be now. It’s challenging to me that I feel like I’m the adult trying to make sure that their divorce/parenting plan is working.

What things are you grateful for? I’m thankful for my experiences in child development. I’m thankful for who I am, and for how my family has raised me. And I’m thankful for being given the opportunity to be reunited with my true love and to be a part of the boys lives.

16 12 2008
Katje Foster

How do you split up the holidays?
We are kind of limited in what we can do because we live four hours away from his mother, but we work to make it fair for all those involved. On even years we get my step son from the time he is out of school until the day after Christmas, and then his mother gets him from the 26th until he returns to school. On odd years we switch times so that every other year one parent gets Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

What special traditions do you celebrate?
We have a Christmas Eve dinner every year and after it is over we watch the Grinch Who Stole Christmas before bed, on the years my step son isn’t there we call him that night and tell him how dinner was and remind him we will be watching the Grinch before bed.

Are you nervous about anything?
No, just looking forward to a wonderful holiday season.

What do you find most challenging during this time of year?
It used to be making sure that we didn’t buy the same gifts as his mother but after a few rocky years we have a great line of communication with her so it hasn’t been a problem.

What things are you grateful for?
I’m most thankful for the experiences I have had as a step mom, my step son is truly amazing and we have a great relationship. I am also greatful for my loving husband who was so caring and understanding during my time of adjustment to the instant family.

16 12 2008
Smom

How do you split up the holidays?

BM takes SS every Christmas, except for one solitary year that we were allowed to have him, because we weren’t around to take him for Thanksgiving. We are going to court to try to get a trade off yearly. We have no rights to Christmas or even Christmas Eve. Nothing. We will be doing our Christmas with him on Sunday the 21st, the closest of our EoW that we have him.

What special traditions do you celebrate?

Every year we go to a local amusement park that has a working train ride around a few acres of land all jazzed up with Christmas light displays. This year his younger cousin is going to be able to come with us, and that will make it even better. We also always do a gingerbread house…suppose I ought to get that kit purchased!

Are you nervous about anything?

I’m always nervous that our gifts will be seen as second rate compared to what he receives at his mother’s house. 25% of my husband’s income is taken from our family and put into their income, so they can afford bigger and “better” gifts. It makes me feel like crap.

What do you find most challenging during this time of year?

Rearranging my life and my schedule and my holiday events and traditions to accomodate them according to whichever weekends we have my SS…and doing it all with a smile. 😛

What things are you grateful for?

I’m grateful that after only one Christmas ever with us, SS still talks about it constantly and wishes he could spend every Christmas at our house. 🙂

21 12 2008
Mrs. S

How do you split up the holidays?

We split holidays with BM based on who had the last holidays with the kids. She had them for Thanksgiving Day, so we get them for Christmas Day, and then she’ll have them for New Year’s Day. It usually works out that it switches every year, so next year we will have them Thanksgiving and New Years.

What special traditions do you celebrate?

We don’t really have anything unique we do. I make a big breakfast and we let the kids open gifts Christmas morning, then we go to my DH’s parents house. My family lives out of state, so we will make efforts in future years to visit them over the holidays when we have the kids long enough.

Are you nervous about anything?

Not really, to be honest. Kids are looking forward to Christmas with us and we really lucked out this year with all that we were able to get them. Each kid is getting something pricey and no one is going to have a lack of presents. 🙂
What do you find most challenging during this time of year?

What things are you grateful for?

Kids’ health and that we all have a good relationship. That my pregnancy has been smooth so far and we are in the final countdown to welcoming our 4th!

Leave a Reply

