Stepmother Water Torture

10 06 2009

Hello M’Ladies:

We had a submission over at the Stepfamily Letter Project that I felt really spoke volumes about what it’s like to be a stepmom. Check it out:

Dear Husband,

I would never leave you. Not in a million years. But I would consider leavingeverything you bring to the table. Especially on the days when my efforts go unappreciated. Especially on the days when I feel taken advantage of by you, your ex wife, and the brood the two of you had together. There are days when I hate what you bring to the table and I feel so trapped I can’t breathe. So many people are pulling on me asking things of me wanting a piece of me and then criticizing the parts of me they do get because they’re not enough that I don’t know how long I’ll be able to withstand the pressure. I am strong. By God, I am the strongest f-ing person I know. But even mountains crack when the plates constantly shift beneath them and the water wears at them day after f-ing day after day. I have to leave. For a day. For a weekend. I have to vent the pressure building in my chest or I’m afraid of what I’ll do.

Many of us have been at this point at one time or another. It’s amazing how you think you’ve got the stepmotherhood thing down and then something comes along to knock you off your feet.

In stepfamilies, those of us who are not related by blood do not give each other the benefit of the doubt. Even if things have been even-keeled for years, if there’s an emotional upheaval, we assume the worst. Stepmothers assume the children hate them and are behaving that way just to get at them. Stepchildren assume stepmothers are being manipulative so they can have more of Dad’s attention. Ex-wives assume that stepmothers are harming their children even after years of service.

Please. Let’s give each other a break. If a kid tells us something the other household said, let’s not jump to the conclusion that it’s a message from the ex-wife. It could be that the child misinterpreted something that was said, or that the child is the one who is trying to stir things up. Let’s not assume that a snotty kid is trying to get back at us. Perhaps she had a crappy day at school.

I have to admit, I am terrible at this. I am probably lecturing myself in this post. I make assumptions about what is motivating behavior in my stepfamily and usually it makes me more miserable than just talking to the person who I’m having a challenge with to find out what’s really going on. 

But when you’re in a low point and the stepmother water torture so aptly described in the letter above is getting you down, it’s hard to maintain your emotional intelligence. Usually if I give myself a few days to calm down (aided by dark chocolate and a glass of red wine) I can see the situation more clearly.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 06 2009
ToolBoxGirl

I can relate to this (see comment on today’s post for background on my SS). I had to insist that this past weekend was MINE. My husband knows how much I pour into his son and he knows that I need my “family free time” to recharge my batteries.

I wish more stepmoms and women in general would value themselves enough to take the time to take care of themselves. And husbands – you need to realize that you can’t squeeze blood from a turnip. When your wife is drained, make the reservations at a spa getaway for her. Or a weekend at Kripalu. Or if you’re anything like my husband, you’d make the arrangements for her to enjoy 5 glorious days on Star Island at a writing conference…(my man knows exactly what excites me and fires me up!)

Remember SELF-CARE!!

11 06 2009
Carrie

This email arrived on the exact day I was feeling those same emotions. I showed it to my husband. I could have written those words. I keep telling him he gets off easy. He doesn’t have to deal with my ex and I do not have children of my own. He has 3 girls and an ex wife from H—!

27 07 2009
Meg

Thanks so much for posting this, and for linking to the Stepfamily Letter Project, which I have never seen before.

Leave a Reply

