A Poll: Want to help other stepmothers?

15 09 2009

Ladies:

Since a few of you have asked, I am considering putting together an educational program called Becoming a Stepmom based on my award-winning book A Career Girl’s Guide to Becoming a Stepmom. If you are someone who likes to teach, coach, or counsel other people this might be something you’re interested in. I have plans to develop a teach-out-of-the-box program that you could offer in your town to as many groups of stepmothers as you can. That means you can make money teaching classes to stepmothers using this educational kit. My book has the full support of the National Stepfamily Resource Center (NSRC) and the foreword was written by Francesca Adler-Baeder, the head of the NSRC.

The kit would include:

  • Teaching materials and workbook
  • DVD with powerpoint presentations for each class
  • Audio recordings from me introducing the class that you can play to your students
  • A signed copy of my book
  • A CD of meditations for stepmoms
  • Designed print and web ads you can use to announce the classes you’re teaching to your community
  • Publicity for your classes on my websites

I’ve decided that in order to take the time to create the Becoming a Stepmom educational program, I need to know that there are at least ten people who would be interested in becoming teachers. If you’d like to learn more about this opportunity to help stepmothers in your area and make a little cash at the same time, you can comment on this post or send me an email at becomingastepmom@gmail.com.

With more than 1,300 new stepfamilies forming every single day, there are lots of women out there looking for help! Thanks for reading this and please pass this information along to anyone you think might be interested.

Best wishes,

Jacque

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 09 2009
Mary Beth

Hi Jacque,
I am interested in this. I live in Providence, RI. Do you anticipate that the teaching would be volunteering? Do you feel that teachers should have some particular background (besides being a stepmother)? I am an attorney – no psychology degree – but I surely feel qualified to teach this course! I would love to hear more information from you.
Thanks!
Mary Beth

16 09 2009
Peggy Nolan

Hi Jacque,

Count me in on this. In addition to the kit you’re putting together, I have a few other recommendations that will help stepmoms get out of the “stepmom box” and not view everything that happens inside the remarried family through that prism.

Peggy
http://thestepmomstoolbox.com
http://serendipitysmiles.com

16 09 2009
Emily

I would be willing to teach this course in Alaska, assuming we can gather the women. We are HERE and need to find each other!

19 09 2009
StepMom Magazine

Jacque –
Let me know if you make headway on this. StepMom Magazine would be interested in helping to sponsor the boxes and/or participate in some way.
Brenda

Leave a Reply

